Mont-Tremblant Inaugural Post

As followers of my Facebook page may already know, I’m partaking in an Ironman this year.  On August 18, 2013, in Mont-Tremblant, Quebec, Canada, I will take part in a stupidly long triathlon that is considered, with very few exceptions, the high watermark for endurance athletes. This is, at least for me, a massive undertaking and a Bucket List kind of endeavor. For this reason, I’m starting Mont-Tremblog, which will be a running tally of my training.

Before people get scared off, my goal for this blog is not to chronicle how awesome this is. For 98% of the population it’s positively idiotic, and I know no one wants to read about a hokey glorification of something that I’ve willingly paid good money to participate in. Seems a little odd and self-aggrandizing to do so in my opinion.

My primary hope is that this will become an engineer’s log of how I got from Point A to Point B. I’ll keep track of weekly activity totals, general fitness (physical and mental), and any pitfalls I encounter along the way. I also hope to track the Michael Phelpsian quantities of food I anticipate I’ll consume, and certainly I’ll inject humor and share funny anecdotes as well. Secondarily, I hope that by publishing this in the public domain, it will keep me honest and ultimately help me stick to my training. Because nothing is a better motivator for me than the threat of getting called out for not keeping my appointed rounds.

Training starts in earnest on January 22.  Stay tuned…or don’t.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Mont-Tremblant Inaugural Post

  1. Becky says:

    love this! looking forward to the journey!! Good luck!!

Leave a comment